Corporal punishment has been practiced in family for a long time. Nowadays many people strongly oppose it. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Punishment to children is very common, particularly physical punishment is exercised often when children misbehave or do things wrong and this type of punishment has been existing in society for decades. Nevertheless, sections of people are against this physical punishment awarded to children. I shall explain both side of arguments and give me opinion.

People who believe that corporal punishment is effective have some rational points. First of all, children do not differentiate the severity of warnings & mistake and consider every mistake as small and ignorable. As a result, they do not think about the repercussion and continue to make mistakes. For example, my nephew who was violent and involved in altercation at school which was initially given warnings and finally end up loss of his own ear wall in big fight among school children. Secondly, children are forgetful if things are not made in hard manner. It has been seen many times that children overlook the notices issues to them but remember the hard physical punishment at school and home.

However, effectiveness of corporal punishments has always been questioned and in recent, educationists openly also about the downside of physical punishments. There is very thin line between right corporal punish and physical abuse. Generally, parents or teacher start with punishments and that’s end up in abuses and resulting injuries to ward. For instance, my neighbor punished his daughter by hitting on head and that caused severe injuries to her head. In addition, some children who are not able to bear such trauma for longer period go through depression or metal ill-ness.

To recapitulate, though corporal punishments seem to be working in most of the families, there are severe side effects of physical treatment. In my view, corporal punishments should be exercised in rare circumstances and children should be counselled by parents for mistakes.