Crime rates will fall as advances in technology make it easier to detect and prevent crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There exists an assertion that due to the development in technology, it is much easier to catch criminals or even eradicate violence. And crime rates will inevitably plummet as a result. I, for one, agree with the given statement on the basis of some compelling reasons.

To begin with, lack of technology simply means that there would be more chances for criminals to appear. First and foremost, every person can be traced readily today. Keeping the public under surveillance regarding every fishy movement on the streets, these outnumbered cameras which have been installed across the cities act as a perfect tool for crime prevention. That is, if they did not exist, there would be a surge in crime rates. Secondly, on the contrary to the past when only we had human policemen, now we can capitalize on online firewall systems controlled by both online police technicians and artificial intelligence to track down would-be offenders.

Additionally, although there might be this belief that new means of crime commitment would be available as technology improves, I, however, think that fewer criminals would take this risk. As a matter of fact, the more technology gets better, the harder it becomes for breaking the laws per se. Therefore, I think even if some acts of crime might happen, the procedure to detect the culprits would not be a big conundrum thanks to advanced systems. Thus, crime rates could dwindle away as technology grows.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there have always been some offenders of any kind, crime rates could diminish gradually in the light of cutting-edge technologies.