Cultures in different countries are more similar today than they used to be.

What are the reasons for this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Cultural heritage is one of the main factors that define diversity among nations. However, the distinction in the traditions of different countries has diminished from the past few decades. In this essay, the causes and effects of this development will be discussed.

One of the main reasons behind the similarity of cultures in different countries could be the migration of a group of citizens from one country to another. Thus, expanding their culture and traditions to different parts of the world and sometimes encouraging native neighbors to adapt their customs and lifestyle. For instance, Indians relocating to Canada with their heritage have influenced Canadians and some of the Indian festivals are now being celebrated in Canada and other countries. Moreover, some tourists when travel to other countries yearn to harvest information regarding their heritage and sometimes follow them even after returning to their native places and influencing other populations.

Consequently, the impact of this development would be both advantageous and disadvantageous. The main disadvantage would be, the diversity of cultures among different nations is alleviating, hence, tourism is getting effected. Without the contrasting traditions in different places, the redundancy of tourism would prevail eventually impacting the economy of nations. Regardless, harmony among diverse cultures and diminished riots due to cultural differences would proliferate.

To conclude, tourism and migration of people to different countries are the reasons for the similarity between cultures of different nations. Although it would bring peace and harmony in the world, the economies would be negatively impacted due to this.