Some people think that success is best measure for intelligence, while others think that intelligence can be measured in other ways. What is your opinion?

Empirical observations show that each individual has a different level of intelligence. Whereas some people consider testing one's intelligence based on his/her achievements, others argue that it could be determined by several other factors. In this essay, I shall examine psychological as well as sociological research to strengthen my point of view in favor of the latter argument.

To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that cognitive skills are imperative to be successful. In other words, acquiring knowledge, which determines the intelligence of an individual to some extent, to achieve a favorable outcome in any field is a must. For example, all the famous scientists of history such as Albert Einstien, were successful because they possessed extraordinary skills. Thus, it can be said that all successful people are intelligent.

However, the vice-versa is not true. Success could not be the only factor to decide brainpower. Success varies from person to person depending upon the privileges and opportunities available to them. Therefore, the brilliance of mind is decided by the problem-solving ability in different circumstances, resilience, maturity, presence of mind, and so on. To exemplify, recent research by the Human Psychology Institute shows that the IQ level of common and unemployed people, who are deprived of education, is significantly higher than those who are employed in Multi-National Companies. This is because the level of understanding is comparatively more in unsuccessful people despite their lack of knowledge. Seen in this light, it is incontrovertible that intelligence does not depend only on intelligence.

To conclude, although some underprivileged people have fewer opportunities to be affluent, yet their brainpower is more than that of fortunate ones.