Shopping has become a favourite passtime for many young people. Why is this the case? Should they be encouraged to spend their free time in a better way?

The time when people used to buy only important and fundamental items for their livelihood is long gone. Nowadays, shopping unnecessarily has become a habit for a maximum of youngsters. There are various reasons for this problem, which will be discussed in detail in this essay followed by my opinion on the solution to the issue.

To begin with, the main reason why teenagers are more inclined towards shopping is persuasive advertisements, such as TV commercials with attractive visuals and sales and discount offers displayed in malls and shops. Moreover, due to advancements in technology, online shopping has become an astronomical platform, where all kinds of products are available and can be bought in one click, thus, influencing young people to spend most of their free time in shopping. In addition to this, Easy Monthly Installments(EMIs) have made it much easier to spend without curbs. To exemplify, Amazon, which is one of the world's leading online shopping websites provide an EMI option on purchasing expensive products.

Consequently, in the long run, people face financial issues and go into debt. Therefore, it becomes critical that young people are encouraged by their guardians to save their earnings instead of spending it. Furthermore, they should be persuaded to utilize their leisure time in extracurricular activities, such as playing outdoor games, workout/exercising, dance, and music, or to volunteer in social work. This would not only enhance their health and fitness but also help in personality development.

To conclude, youngsters waste their spare time shopping because of the easy access to goods and compelling adverts. Also, it requires minimum efforts and makes them sluggish. However, they should be encouraged to invest their leisure time in more productive activities, which would be beneficial in saving their expenses as well as developing their personality both physically and mentally.