Young people now spend far too much time and money on following fashion trends (such as technology and clothing) to what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the basic needs of humans, i.e., clothes have now become a way to flaunt high status in society. Also, the development in science, which is mainly essential to ease and support various tasks, is now the symbol of high class for teenagers. I completely agree that our youth is wasting unnecessary time and money to buy expensive clothes and electronic equipment.

Nowadays, almost every child has a role model who is a celebrity and they tend to follow their style and fashion, which would be costlier to attain at a young age. Highly influenced by these famous personalities, youngsters try to follow in their footsteps to gain fame and status by buying expensive items such as clothes, watches, and smartphones. Thus, mostly to show off in front of their peers they spend either all of their pocket money or their whole salary. Eventually, this could lead to some serious financial problems in the future.

In addition to this, youth is highly inclined towards creating an impressive image of themselves on social media that kills most of their leisure time, or sometimes a part of their productive time too. In a recent survey conducted by The Youth Timeline, it has been found that most scholars and undergraduates spend an average of 11 hours on social networking sites like Instagram, Facebook. Remarkably, this is almost half a day. Moreover, using their overpriced gadget continuously for longer hours causes the prevalence of a plethora of health issues like back pain, weak eye-sight, and migraine among teenagers.

To conclude, there is no doubt that youngsters waste a huge amount of money and their time to stay updated in terms of fashion and technology. Nonetheless, they should be encouraged by their guardians to concentrate more on productive activities and to save money.