Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Others think that it is better to produce these locally.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era, the entertainment industry is growing throughout the world due to globalization. Several countries import films and TV shows from their counterparts. Whereas, because of cultural benefits, some people are in favor of this approach, others are reluctant to it and opine that domestically produced movies and shows should be encouraged more. In this essay, both of these views are outlined followed by my opinion.

To begin with, it is credible that artists from different countries altogether provide a wide range of entertainment sources. Not only it improves knowledge of an individual about the cultures and traditions of various countries, but also most people acquire the linguistic skills of foreign languages by watching foreign movies. To exemplify, youngsters as well as adults prefer to watch Hollywood talk shows or web series to master English speaking skills. Empirical observation suggests that the human brain tends to learn languages faster when a person listens to it rather than reading or cramming. Thus, importing non-native shows is imperative for improving a country's culture.

On the other hand, the inclination of the public of a country towards foreign movies could also have demerits for a country. In other words, if the movies would be produced locally, the nation's economy will be boosted as it would create more employment opportunities in the domestic entertainment market. For instance, struggling and talented potential artists would get jobs, only if, the audience would be interested to see films directed and produced in their own country. Furthermore, some content in non-native shows might be opposing to other cultures and could create disputes among nations, consequently, hampering the harmony in the world.

In conclusion, even though foreign pictures and programs are advantageous for information and a variety, sometimes they could hurt the sentiments of individuals of a different culture and could be detrimental to a country's economy. Therefore, there is also a need to develop the local entertainment industry and to strengthen it for competing on a global platform.