It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increase in population, the demand for residential as well as other places for leisure has increased. It is generally believed that exorbitant investment in the restoration of historical buildings should be redirected towards the establishment of new premises. In this essay, I shall refer to some sociological studies and examples, to discuss both pros and cons of spending money on the production of contemporary buildings.

To begin with, admittedly, ancient buildings entice the tourists from all over the world, therefore, contributing to the economic growth of the nation. For example, according to a report by Oxford, statistics state that about 20 percent of annual income is earned by the Tourism Industry of the US. Besides, such places are also enriched with cultural history which helps younger generations to acquire information about their cultures.

On the other hand, it is intuitively obvious the degraded quality of old structures would make them more prone to hazards in natural calamities. It would not only be precarious for that particular building, but also its surroundings. For example, research by the Times shows that, during the recent earthquake in Japan, the places that were badly affected are the ones where old buildings were in abundance. Moreover, an astronomical amount of money was spent to repair those buildings so that they could be saved from future catastrophic events. Thus, it is imperative to establish new buildings following risk prevention measures to ensure safety and utilizing the money in a proactive approach.

To conclude, in my opinion, although the preservation of historical buildings for the sake of rich cultural heritage and for the lucrative tourism industry is justified, the government should also take into consideration the need for the assembly of modern buildings, since the well-being of the population is a priority.