It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture o f the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning its language?

It is widely believed that people should mix up with the culture of the place, where they are. In this essay, I shall refer to some examples to argue - contrary to the general opinion - that it should be the choice of an individual to either follow cultures of the country they are visiting or not and also discuss the importance of language in learning different cultures.

To begin with, the fundamental point to favor my opinion would be the diversity in cultures as well as different traditions followed in different parts of the world. In other words, the customs and beliefs of one religion/culture could be abhorrent to others. To exemplify, in India, cows are considered as a goddess and worshipped, on the other hand, in the US, people eat beef, which is impertinent and unacceptable for Hindu culture. Thus, it is incontrovertible that every culture could not be adapted and accepted by those who have completely opposite points of view.

With the increase in tourism, more population is traveling from one country to another. Also, due to advancements in technology, it has now become easier to understand and convey messages to others in different languages. For instance, google translator and other language translation applications are being commonly used by tourists while traveling to different places. Therefore, alleviating the significance of learning multiple languages to acquire knowledge about other cultures.

To conclude, freedom of choice should be given to travelers whether they prefer to habituate to the cultures of their destination or not. Furthermore, being multilingual is not a necessity to learn other cultures, since we can now simply use technology for translations.