Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every individual has a favorite leisure activity to relax their mind. It is opined by some people that to enjoy, recreational activities should be arduous. I partially agree with the opinion that only tough hobbies give pleasure. In this essay, I shall refer to some sociological studies as well as examples to argue contrary to popular belief.

Admittedly, the ones who acquire professional skills in their pass time activities and choose to earn their livelihood in that particular occupation would get easily bored if their work is not challenging enough to foster their interest in harvesting more knowledge. Conversely, they would become less passionate about their job as it would seem effortless to do. For example, if anyone interested in cricket has no competition or a goal to achieve, they would lose their motivation. Therefore, in some cases, hobbies are required to be hard.

On the contrary, if a job is not related to an individual's leisure interests, but despite it is simply a means of relaxation, difficulty in hobbies would deprive them of the energy and would consequently lack entertainment. In other words, after a hectic day at the office, instead of relaxing, if people would engage in arduous hobbies their physical as well as mental health would get affected. For instance, a study by National Biological Institute shows that the human brain requires an adequate amount of calmness and composure to work efficiently. However, tougher leisure activities would neither be beneficial for a healthy mind nor enjoyable.

To conclude, although difficult hobbies are advantageous for those who follow their passion and need constant encouragement, it could cause severe mental problems for some people by alleviating mind tranquility, thus, would not be pleasurable to any extent.