Most people cannot speak in public. Therefore, it is important to start teaching this skill at school. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, public speaking is one of the most important skills that one must possess. However, a large number of people hesitate to voice their opinion to others. It is suggested that this skill should be taught from the beginning of a child's education. I completely agree that speaking in public confidently is a must from early schooling.

One major argument in favor of public speaking is that it develops the personality of an individual. It helps in successfully interacting with others by delivering your message correctly and expressing your point of view clearly to the audience. Not only it enhances interpersonal skills, but also, it helps in maintaining good relationships. Those, who have a phobia of speaking in front of the public, or struggle to do so, lose confidence and feel inferior among others. Having said that, if the public speaking skill is taught at a young age to children they tend to carry it forward and develop more and more confidence eventually.

Moreover, apart from academic knowledge, the ability to speak out loud in a large group and leading a team are the qualities that every employer seeks in their potential employees. Therefore, if a graduate student has obtained the highest marks in academics, for example, with no courage to speak it would be difficult to crack interviews and get employed. Due to this reason, public speaking should be taught as a compulsory skill in educational institutes.

To conclude, to develop one's personality and to build the confidence to speak effortlessly in public, schools and colleges should provide public speaking skills. To do so, either it can be added as a subject in curriculum, or special events or competitions should be organized and students should be encouraged to participate.