In modern world, it is possible to shop, work, and communicate with other people without face to face contact. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advancements of technology have made is much easier to communicate, either for work or business, remotely. Although it brings both advantages and disadvantages to modern era, I believe the benefits are certainly more than the drawbacks.

Admittedly, frauds could be more prevalent in this situation. A fake authenticity of a business or company running on the internet could lead to various cyber crimes and is precarious for the protection of customer data. Take online shopping, for example, not all the shopping websites are legal and credible, which is why common people gets looted and betrayed. Moreover, for employees of a company, who are working remotely either from their home or from other countries, it becomes arduous sometimes, due to network issues, to provide efficient effort or to get aligned with their teams.

Despite this, not only this development saves time wasted in commute to workplaces or travelling overseas for meetings or seminar, but also, it benefits financially. Online businesses could be expanded to a larger market, thus eventually making them lucrative. Furthermore, the capital investment and initial cost to setup a business or company could be diminished as the necessity to establish workplace, offices and buildings would be reduced. Communicating with people over the internet has brought people closer. Needless to say, the online communication has proved to be advantageous in current pandemic situation, when face to face contact is preferred to be avoided. For instance, even without contacting physically most of the businesses and IT companies are running hassle free having little or no effect on the economy worldwide.

To conclude, even though there are certain limitations of not having face to face contact with the people while working or shopping, there are many strengths of the technology which allows us to communicate over the internet without actually travelling and meeting people. In my opinion, the positive impacts far outweigh the negatives of the development.