Some people believe that the whole family (grandparents, uncles, aunts) bringing up children is better rather than only parents.

What is your opinion?

In the modern era, children brought up in nuclear families are more prevalent than those in joint families. Indeed, to my mind, there is convincing evidence that the upbringing of an offspring by the entire family is far beneficial than by only parents. In this essay, I shall examine how research in human psychology and sociological studies support this view.

To begin with, proper guidance by elders is essential as well as a fundamental factor in a child's overall growth. Due to a busy lifestyle, however, nowadays the negligence of working parents towards their descendants is increasing significantly. For instance, a recent Cambridge study shows that 60 percent of children in the US are left with caretakers or babysitters, while their biological parents spend most of their time working or socializing. Conversely, in joint families, the unavailability of parents does not harm a child's growth because of the presence of grandparents and their counseling.

Moreover, the dearth of emotional support during childhood results in failure of human relationships in their future, whereas, interaction with uncles, aunts, and cousins help youngsters acquire the skills of dealing with emotions. For example, according to psychological research, while the infants who spend their childhood alone or in a smaller family are ignorant, those who grow up in large families are patient and well-behaved. Thus, youngsters learn emotional as well as sociological skills from their elders in a joint family.

To conclude, for the overall personality development of children, from my perspective, upbringing by the whole family is far advantageous than by only parents, especially in today's world, when parents are more inclined towards earning their livelihood. In addition to this, to ensure the safety of an infant, nothing could be a substitute to own family.