Advantages and disadvantages for elderly retired people moving to another country.

Nowadays, numerous people tend to relocate to different countries after retiring from their jobs due to several reasons. The main reasons could be their personal choice or their children moving overseas for education or employment. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of senior citizens shifting abroad will be discussed.

To begin with, after working hard at a young age, elderly people could finally take advantage of their savings to live an extravagance life. At retirement age, most parents are free from the responsibility of paying utility bills and educational fees for their children because usually, they move to other countries to earn their livelihood and pay their remittance. Thus, after getting retired from work, old people could move to foreign countries and enjoy the rest of their lives. Moreover, relocating would be refreshing for those who spend their whole life in a single city. To exemplify, some aged Indians find exposure to western culture pleasant.

On the other hand, some people move to another country to stay close to their children, who work or study abroad. In such cases, it could become difficult for elders to adapt to a new place, especially if they have no friends or acquaintances in their neighborhood. Besides, since laws, rules, the language of foreign countries could be unfamiliar for senior citizens. Elder people staying in Paris, for example, if, would not understand or speak French, how would they survive there? Consequently, it would cause an inconvenience for people of old age.

To conclude, relocating to new places after retirement has both merits and demerits depending upon the motive, of an individual, to move. Whereas it could be advantageous for those who need a change in their surroundings and lifestyle, it might be disadvantageous if golden-agers would not be able to adapt to a new country's culture and traditions.