Some people prefer to live n rented homes. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

Nowadays, the occupation, age, and personal preference of an individual are the factors that contribute to deciding his/her dwelling place. A few decades back, people were more inclined towards buying or establishing their houses and live there for the rest of their lives. However, in the modern era, the young generation prefers leased accommodation. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of renting a house are outlined.

To begin with, due to capricious working locations, it is more convenient to rent a place than buying a new home each time the city is changed. Besides, the initial construction cost and hassle of designing a home are reduced if you live in lodgings. Moreover, people can change their house easily, in case, they feel the surroundings or neighborhood is precarious. For example, in Bangalore, most of the employees dwell up in rented apartments and can change their place of residence without any inconvenience, if they get a new job in another city, or if they simply want a change in their surroundings

Although rental houses have a wide range of choices to select from, there is always a lack of gratification. At a certain age, almost every person wants to own a house, where they can spend the remaining life with their family, without worrying about the monthly rents. While for leased homes people need to pay remittance every month, the investment in constructing a house is one-time. For instance, a study by The Times has found that the average cost to build a house is 30% less than the amount paid for the renting units. Thus, it is incontrovertible that purchasing or building a home is cost-effective than renting one.

As such it can be concluded that, for young adults, the leased houses are more advantageous as they have a variety of options, which are suitable even if they change their job or location. On the other hand, for people at retirement age, it is appropriate if they have a self-owned house. Furthermore, in the long run, constructing and owning a house is lucrative.