Having more money and less free time is better than earning less money and having more free time. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Conventional wisdom has it that money cannot buy happiness. It is widely believed that earning less salary and having more free time is far beneficial than being affluent and having no leisure time. In this essay, I shall refer to some sociological studies to discuss both these views followed by my opinion.

To begin with, to earn more money, arduous work is required. Those, who follow hectic schedules, have less or no time for their personal growth. Consequently, their health is compromised, which in turn, has serious repercussions. For example, a study by the Biological Science Organisation shows that around 75 percent of rich people are prone to anxiety attacks, heart diseases, and other physical and mental illnesses, however, this percentage among the middle class is only 30 percent. Moreover, what is the benefit to earn money when you cannot get enough time to spend it on your growth? Also, human relationships get affected if they are not given the required time and attention.

While, on the other hand, if an individual could only earn their livelihood without any extravagance, but have enough leisure time, that they could invest on their holistic growth, he/she would be at an advantage. This is because, additional time would be available to spend with their families, which would strengthen their relationships. Furthermore, the sense of gratification would be higher. To exemplify, the Human Psychology Institute states that the impact of personals affairs on a person's life determines psychological growth and development. Thus, it is incontrovertible that getting an adequate amount of time for personality development is necessary.

To conclude, a healthy lifestyle and contentment are imperative for living happily, however, without investing the required time on personal growth it cannot be achieved. From my perspective, although money matters for basic needs, it should not hinder other aspects of life.