Many people are copying famous celebrities from magazines and TV.

Why is this happening?

Do you think it's a good idea to copy celebrities?

Nowadays, in the digital era, people get influenced by their role models, popular actors, or sportsmen in particular, through platforms such as TV and magazines. In this essay, I shall examine the psychological studies to discuss the factors responsible for this followed by the positive as well as negative effects of copying the celebrities.

To begin with, common people's lives have been significantly affected by the lifestyle of famous actors, fashion models, and sportsmen. This is because the youngsters, as well as adults, want to be perceived as updated with the latest trends. To exemplify, a study by the human psychology institute shows that about 80 percent of individuals are afraid to be left out by their peers because of their lack in fashion sense. Moreover, the television personalities set universal trends that entice youth, and thus, they try to copy them.

From my perspective, following the positive actions of the celebrities foster their followers to involve in activities that are beneficial for society. For instance, many cricketers endorse healthy products and lifestyles, that inspire the young generation to develop their physical strength, thus making them less obese. Another example would be the actors voicing their opinions on social matters such as discrimination based on caste and color, which encourage their audience to stand against such inequity. However, in some cases, in an attempt to imitate the extravagance way of living, one might go in debt. Therefore, it could also be disadvantageous.

To conclude, the yearning of being accepted and recognized by their peers and to show off, people try to assimilate their role models. Although to mimic their affluent lifestyle could have detrimental effects, it has certain advantages that change the narrow mentality of the public and helps them evolve.