With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources.

To what extent do you agree?

Due to advances in technology, the human population heavily depends upon machines, which require resources such as petrol, diesel, and gas, to function. Some researchers opine that the rapid use of these resources has implied the need to shift to the unexplored part of the world to cope up with the increased demand. In this essay, I shall refer to environmental as well as geographical effects to strengthen my point of view contrary to the popular opinion.

To begin with, the effects of this development would be detrimental for the environment because the changes in natural habitat would be precarious for the flora and fauna of such areas. This would not only harm the beauty of nature but would also result in the alteration of natural phenomenons. For instance, establishing oil or gas plants in Antarctica for the production of natural resources would pollute the astonishing environment. Moreover, the animals living in that habitat such as penguins and seals would become endangered.

Besides, the overuse of vehicles would proliferate due to the high availability of the fuel, which combusts to form greenhouse gases. These gases affect the climate and stratospheric ozone layer. To exemplify, numerous environmental studies show that the excessive use of petrol, diesel, and other gases produces carbon monoxide and methane, which are indirectly responsible for the depletion of the ozone layer. Furthermore, many diseases arise due to air pollution and climate changes.

Having seen the above points, it can be concluded that the exploration of undiscovered areas would increase the detrimental effects of non-renewable resources on nature. Therefore, from my perspective, more eco-friendly energy resources such as solar energy and wind energy, should be used in the future to prevent the repercussions of opening unexposed areas.