With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

This is an undeniable fact that the demand of resources like oil and gas has increased sharply worldwide and therefore the supply of the same has been affected. I am in favor of this notion and hence this essay will throw light on how lifting ban on restrictive trade practices among nations and new economic reforms can help in curbing this situation.

Firstly, lot of nations have made some changes in their existing trade practices with other nation through which the Ease of Doing Business (EoDB) with those countries have improved drastically. For example, in a country like India, the economic policy of liberalization, privatization and globalization (LPG) in 1991 has helped this developing nation to reach those markets which has potential yet they were untapped. With this, the Foreign Direct Investments made their way in India and affected the economic growth. Hence, with removing the trade barriers among nations, the gap in the demand and supply can be mitigated.

Furthermore, there is a need of new economic reforms which will bring positive changes in the trade and commerce among nations. The respective governments must take some steps to add or modify the existing economic, legal and political policies which will bring a great change to the growth of those countries. For example, in Middle East, the cost of producing oil and gas is least as it is the hub of refineries. One single modification in the economic framework, like providing subsidy, can lead to procuring such resources in abundance at a very competitive price. Hence, the new reforms by administration can help to access oil and gas at lesser price.

To conclude, the government of countries must not onlyget liberal in conducting trade and removing obstacles but also they should come up with new reforms in business which will help in accessing the untapped potential areas for oil and gas extraction.