Governments and big companies should work together to reverse environmental damage, rather than expecting individuals to take responsibility. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Making the environment cleaner and controlling its further deterioration should be a joint effort of the administration and big corporate houses. Individuals alone cannot be held accountable for this damage. I accord with the statement and through this essay will bring forth the reason how the enforcement of environmental laws by the government and treating the waste material before disposing them off by the business houses can curb this problem.

The onus of cleaner environment lies greatly with the government as it is their responsibility to enforce stringent laws. This will not only help in mitigating the damage caused by pollution but also make the people aware and responsible of the rules and refrain them from disobeying the same. For example, authorities should make it a mandate that a prior approval from Centre or State Pollution Control Board is compulsory before setting up any industrial unit in the suburbs or rural areas. Hence, such a role played by the authorities would have a long-lasting impact on dealing with this problem.

Furthermore, the big organizations must ensure that all effluents and other waste material are segregated and treated before releasing them into the rivers. This will lead to reduction of pollutants in the air and water thereby leaving the environment cleaner. For example, Tata Group of Companies have an operational Solid Waste Management plant which treat the waste material within the premises thereby leaving the environment cleaner. Hence, big establishments should come forward with such plans of waste treatment which will eventually lead to a fresh and safe environment.

To conclude, the government should enforce the laws strictly with provision of penalising the law breaker and institutes should also come forward in contributing towards a greener and cleaner environment by setting up waste treatment plants in their premises.