In future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The advancements in technology have made it easier to access the information through the internet. Due to the prevalence of online websites to provide the latest news and books without any charges, it is generally believed that printed books and newspapers will lose their importance soon. In this essay, I shall argue - contrary to general opinion - that why printed material would be purchased by a vast array of people.

To begin with, although the technology advances provide a convenient and cheap way to gather information from e-books and several news websites, unavailability of imperative resources such as computers, tablets, and the internet, to use these services have limited the benefits provided to a certain part of the public. In other words, the new ways of reading news and books are particularly acute in urban areas or developed countries. To exemplify, a recent survey by the Economic Times shows that a large number of population in many poor countries do not have access to the internet and smartphones. in such areas, the population still reads hard copies of books and printed newspapers.

Moreover, security breaches and unauthentic data on the online platforms could mislead the public and could create chaos among nations. This is because the internet is open source and anyone can upload fallacious data on the internet. Unlike newspapers and books, the copyrights and authenticity of the authors are not trustworthy. For instance, the false news spread by a human affairs website regarding the demise of the famous Bollywood celebrity created mayhem among the general public. Thus, due to the uncertainty of whether the information is valid or invalid, people would not trust these sources and hence continue using traditional ways of reading news.

Having seen the above points, it can be concluded that poverty in some countries and lack of authenticity in free information available online are the major reasons for the continuation of the popularity of printed material. Therefore, it is incontrovertible that practically printed books or newspapers would be bought by people in the future.