Scientists can increase people's lifespan to 100 years. Is this a good or bad thing?

Due to technological advancements, nowadays scientists claim that people can live up to 100 years. It is debatable whether this breakthrough would be beneficial or harmful. From my perspective, the increased lifespan of humans would lead to both environmental and economical problems in the world.

One major argument to support my opinion is the increase in population on the earth, which would cause a threat to natural habitat, as deforestation would escalate. Thus, more species of flora and fauna would become extinct. Moreover, there would be more usage of resources and an increase in pollution, eventually damaging the environment and the scarcity of resources. To exemplify, the increased use of non-renewable resources such as coal, petroleum produces greenhouse gases, as a result, global warming rises.

Furthermore, longer life means less availability of employment to the younger generation and more poverty. Consequently, numerous unemployed youngsters could get inclined towards crimes and drugs to earn their livelihood. A study by The Times shows that about 64% of the criminals are less than 35 years old, out of which 30-35% commit crimes to draw money. With the increase in crime rates, harmony in the world could be jeopardized.

To conclude, the increased lifespan is not advantageous for people due to environmental drawbacks like over-population, threats to nature, resource depletion, and economical limitations such as unemployment, impoverishment, social conflicts, and so on. In my point of view, living for 10 decades would alleviate the thrill and excitement of life and would make it boring and more predictable.