“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is widely believed that following proactive measures to avoid illness is more advantageous to paying an exorbitant amount of money in hospitals for treatment. I agree with this belief because most diseases are the result of negligence in daily activities by mankind.

Admittedly, people cannot prevent all precarious diseases, especially when the causes of a certain illness are not known even to the researchers and doctors. For instance, coronavirus, which is the reason of the current pandemic situation was unexpected, since the World Health Organisation was not aware of any such disease. Thus, it is undeniable that sickness cannot be prohibited until its causes are unpredictable.

However, if people are aware of the symptoms and origin of the disease, they can take all the prevention measures to remain safe. To exemplify, wearing a mask, sanitizing hands, and social distancing are the steps taken by the public to avoid exposure to the contagious COVID virus. Moreover, a vast array of infections gets transmitted mainly due to unsafe environment and unhealthy practices, such as improper/unbalanced diet, apathy to exercise or participating in physical activities, the stress of work or studies, and so on. Consequently, to get treated, people pay huge amounts to doctors and sometimes go in debt, which could be detrimental and leads to more anxiety. Also, some diseases have less or no probability of having a cure. A recent study by WHO states that almost 10% of discovered infections and severe illnesses have less than 3% chances of treatment.

To conclude, although it is not in our hands to avoid all unexpected accidents, most of them could still be prevented, if we take proper care. Not only to stay fit but also, to curb the remittance of therapies and medicines, it would be beneficial for us.