Some people think that dangerous sports should be banned, while others think that people should be free to choose. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Throughout the world, people of all ages play a plethora of games. Whereas some people opine that the government should prohibit some dangerous sports, others argue that an individual should be given the freedom to play any sports. In this essay, I shall refer to some general studies and examples to discuss both the opinions and my perspective.

To begin with, although sports are considered to be beneficial for one's fitness and proper growth both mentally and physically, several sports could be precarious for the players. In other words, games such as wrestling and car racing could cause severe injuries or could be a threat to life. For instance, a study by the National Sports Academy claims that about 10 to 12 percent of players lost their lives in car-racing, and approximately twenty wrestlers get handicapped each year because of harsh treatment, during matches, by their counterparts. Thus, it is incontrovertible that such sports could lead to various dangers for a lifetime.

However, if professional training would be given to the beginners in dangerous games, the casualties could be prevented. Therefore, giving freedom of choice to people in selecting their favorite sports activity. This is necessary for a sense of gratification for those who are genuinely interested in these sports. To exemplify, a survey conducted by the Times has found that sportsmen, who follow their passion and choose a sport of their preference achieve ameliorated success than the ones whose interests lie elsewhere. In short, self-determination is important for achievements in games.

To conclude, admittedly, some sports could be hazardous, which is why proper training by professionals is a necessity to curb such situations that jeopardize the lives of sportsmen. Moreover, the equipment as well as costumes should be designed following the risk assessment. In my opinion, banning players from playing some sports is not an efficient and fair measure to avoid the problem.