Some people believe that money is the best gift for teenagers while others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In many countries, giving presents on birthdays, anniversaries or other special occasions is a convention. Whether presenting money as a gift is advantageous or not, is a debatable topic among some people. In this essay, I shall refer to some general examples and psychological studies to discuss both points of view followed by my opinion.

To begin with, it is intuitively obvious that during adolescent age, each person possesses distinct interests which makes it difficult to choose a present for an individual. In such cases, despite purchasing something that would be unuseful for the recipient, giving money as a gift would be a better choice. To exemplify, recent research by Human Psychological Unit has found that every 3 out of 4 people are not satisfied with the goodies they receive and prefer cash as a gift.

On the other hand, it is also possible that teenagers might misuse the money gifted to them. This is because at this age they are enticed by a plethora of tempting things that could be disadvantages for the adolescents. For instance, squandering on junk food that would eventually lead to health problems such as obesity and heart diseases. Besides, according to a study by the Crime Bureau, drug consumption is maximum among teenage boys and girls. Seen in this light, money as a gift seems to have certain drawbacks as well.

To conclude, although monetary gifts are precarious to an extent, from my perspective, if young people would be appropriately guided by elders, the demerits could be alleviated. In other words, teenagers should be fostered to save these gift tokens and spend the money wisely.