It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

With the advancements in the educational system, students, nowadays, have numerous options to choose from concerning their career prospects. Therefore, taking some time off to figure out the optimum area in tertiary education has become prevalent among school graduates. In this essay, I shall discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this popular trend.

To begin with, after the completion of secondary education, dropping off for one year provides enough time to get enrolled in several short-term courses to achieve basic certifications as well as to explore the areas of interest. This is profoundly helpful to select the appropriate field to study further and get expertise in that particular subject. Take six months computer courses, for example, which includes a vast array of technologies, acquiring fundamental skills would not only develop a strong base for the certified students but also, it would give insights into what could be expected in the university from Computer Science Engineering. Moreover, in the meantime, the prospective students could also prepare for competitive examinations to get selected in top universities throughout the world.

On the other hand, if not counseled properly by teachers and guardians, most teenagers during their year off could get distracted from studies. Besides, because of the continuous habit of spending their time doing almost nothing productive, joining back the college or university might cause a plethora of problems in their higher studies. Furthermore, during work placements, if the educational gap would not be justified properly by an individual, the potential employers might refuse to hire such a candidate. To exemplify, a recent survey by the Economic Times found that approximately 20 percent of job applications are declined by the companies annually due to the incompetence of graduates to show any productive tasks in the gap between school and college studies.

Having seen both merits and demerits of time off in between the education, it can be concluded that if the students utilize their time wisely during the gap, they would get astronomical advantages from their hard work in the future. To achieve this, it is the responsibility of parents as well as teachers to guide them properly.