It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

University education is important since it turns a student into an employable resource. It is also true that a rising number of students are opting for a year break between the school and the college. This essay will discuss both benefits and drawbacks of this step.

One evident benefit of taking a year gap is that the youngsters get an option to pursue their dreams apart from regular studies. For example, they can enroll in a short term course of basic computing skills, dance, photography, sports to name a few. If they found a connection there, they might continue and excel in that direction forever It is far better than doing something which you don't like for your whole life. Another prominent benefit could be for students from a poor background. In a year break, they can earn to sponsor their university education and will not be dependent on grants from university or look for evening jobs. Similarly, these pupils can utilize a year off to prepare well for competitive examinations, in order to get admission to some good universities.

A big drawback of this step could be that the students may not come back to university at all. They might settle down for some mediocre work, not doing justice to their full potential. This can also lead to a scarcity of good professional resources in the market. For instance, we need doctors to help us in case we are sick. With fewer enrollments in medical universities, we are bound to have fewer doctors. Another disadvantage could be for scholars who took a break to prepare for competitive assessments since next year a whole new batch of students will add up to the competition, hence doing it right first time looks to be a better option here.

In conclusion, despite the advantages, a year break offers in terms of pursuing a dream or earning to sponsor university education, we must take into consideration the disadvantages that these students might not come back to university at all, resulting in a shortage of professional people or they will have to face increased competition for entry to university next year.