The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

Education and student grading is important, since it provides on the understanding level of students. It is also true that there is a paradigm shift in the way students were scrutinised earlier and now by means of weekly examinations. In my essay below, I will discuss both these trends and provide my views in favour of it as below.

Firstly, traditional examinations used to focus on months of study and then assessments couple of times in the whole year. It was also seen that many students used to do focussed study only during the examination months and took it easy during the actual study time. In order to cover a lot of syllabus during a small time, they used to techniques like cramming without going for full understanding of topics. For example, if a student is supposed to cover 10 subjects in a month and appear for an paper, he will try to look for some makeshift arrangements. In case, these young lads would have been studying all along, they would have found themselves in a much better position.

Secondly, the weekly tests are less burdening since students need to cover only a week's study done in their school and it also promotes regular study. Also, this plan definitely motivates them regularly to learn. For instance, to do well every time in these weekly examinations, students will be more inclined to regularly attend classes, and make peer study networks for focussed study. Another added advantage of weekly grading is that they will get consistent feedback about their knowledge and can pull up their socks very soon taking care of their final grades. If, they were not regularly apprised of their understanding of subjects every week, it might have been difficult for them to improve upon.

In conclusion, we looked at some shortcomings of traditional exams like less focussed study throughout the year and cramming to cover subjects and also few benefits of weekly examinations such as regular study and constant feedback. Hence, I can strongly assert that weekly examinations is the way forward for ensuring that students are putting their valuable time to a better use.