The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

In recent years the approach of assessing students through continual assessment has risen in popularity over the alternate of examinations. In my opinion, while this model has the advantage of testing students knowledge in full but may breed the chances of plagiarism.

Firstly looking at the positives of exams, one of the crucial advantages of exams is it leaves a little room for cheating. This is because exams are undertaken in the presence of invigilator whose job is to detect any candidate breaking the rule. In contrast, continual assessment increases the risk of plagiarism since the assignments are generally completed with the help of the internet. Beside reducing, cheating exams tend to appear once or twice in a year. Thus provide enough time for students to prepare and revise.

Nevertheless, exams do bring some problems for students, the obvious one is that when the student who is extremely creative and intelligent put under pressure may result in their mind go blank. Considering exams as a situation of intense pressure, the brightest of the students can perform poorly especially. Another disadvantage of exams is that they are not comprehensive enough to test the knowledge in full. To illustrate, a small window of time limits the information on which students will be tested on.

To conclude, Although continual provide relax environment for students and test the knowledge in details, arguably they exams are not time-efficient and not strict in cutting down cheating as exams.