It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

With the advancement in educational system, it has commonly been noticed that there are plethora of crash courses that can be done after completion of school. So the vogue of taking year break for tertiary education is now common but it has its own benefits and certain drawbacks that I shall discuss in the essay and will give logical conclusion.

To begin with, there is an advantage that a teenager can get themselves enrolled in any short term course that can help to have profound knowledge of the type of career a student want to get into. Also, students who are facing financial crisis gets opportunity to earn good and save for their higher studies. For example, most of the BPO’s appoints 12th pass out and give handsome amount of salary. Also, a year gap helps adolescents to work on their weakness in studies like IIT, an aspirant get enough time to excel in their subject and can clear the competitive exam. Therefore, it can be noticed a rest year can act as a breakthrough in there forthcoming career and management of time for exams.

On the other hand, obvious disadvantage can be seen that students become off track and lose interest in study when they get a year break. Besides, they do not want to continue with university education. In this way we might lose good professionals. For instance, medical professionals needs to study on university level failing to do so will not result in good medical staff. Moreover, in order to fulfill the appetency of flashy gadgets and attires students wants to get easy money without being concerned of getting graduated. This leads children to get into smuggling that do not lead to right path. Thus, a year gap cannot always be fruitful for many areas of professionals.

To conclude, I would rather say, a year gap is prominent as the students utilizes their time wisely, they get astronomical advantages from their hard work in the future. This overweighs the demerits of a year break.