It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It has commonly been noticed that due to huge competition in recent years, vogue of year gap between schooling and going to be a university graduate is enormously increasing. This essay will examine advantage and disadvantage and will give logical conclusion.

Among all, a year gap can be beneficial for a teenager, that they get enough time to acquire the new skills and conditioned their brain and at the same time they can polish their weakness. A year break not only gives time for study but also gives opportunity to those students who are going through financial crisis and want to continue their education. For instance, plethora of students preparing for IIT JEE utilizes this period to practice for their competitive exams. Also, BPO’s provide jobs to 12th passout and gives them handsome amount of salary with the experience which attracts youngsters to earn for their future. Thus, adolescents earn money and save it for their higher studies.

Moreover, there can be obvious disadvantage that is the loss of track from study. Nowadays, easy money attracts youngsters and they want to be like their favorite star. After completion of school they directly want to get into the job to earn for their appetency for new attires and gadgets which might lead them to get distracted from study. Beside, a year gap makes youngsters lethargic to get into a lot of concentration involved in studies. For example, a study done in oxford university states that 60% of the students with year gap falls in the trap of smuggling for money to fulfill their needs. Although, they get lot of time instead they waste watching series on Netflix that can be unproductive for their career. Therefore, rest period sometimes leads to become reluctant to study hard.

To recapitulate, I would rather say, a year gap should be utilized while working somewhere and gaining experience which attributes to a good job. This outweighs the demerits of rest period.