In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is evident that in the industrialized countries, the lifespan of an average person has increased more than ever. This phenomenon has naturally created some issues for the older population and for the overall society. This essay will discuss some problems regarding this and explore potential solutions to mitigate the same.

To begin with, the ageing issue will put a lot of burden on a country‘s economy. This is because governments will have to spend the taxpayers’ money on the social security and medicare of these people. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, all the governments around the globe had to spend extra money to protect the most vulnerable population, the seniors. It will also create problems for the individuals compared to the younger generation as they will lag to cope up with the transformation. Since older people are reluctant to change and in the adoption of the new technology, they may sometimes be left behind in comfortably fulfilling their basic needs. For instance, many supermarkets or transportation systems use automated billing and ticketing systems that may put the elderly people behind the curve.

There are, however, some measures that can be put into place. Firstly, governments and private organizations should modify retirement programs. Individuals from a young age should be persuaded to prepare for post-retirement life. To elucidate, better 401K programs should be designed where certain contributions are made mandatory for the individuals as they begin their careers. This will help reduce the stress on society in the future. Secondly, educational programs should be designed and encouraged by the governments for the seniors. These programs can help the elderly in dealing with critical tasks. For instance, with the help of virtual reality technology and other technologies, special programs can be done in senior livings or in libraries that can benefit the aged population in their day-to-day life.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that with the latest innovations and better medical treatments, life expectancy will continue to grow steadily. This will certainly pose some challenges for the nations and for the elderly themselves; however, if better planning and preparations are carried out by them, this will help reduce their magnitude.