Some people think that politicians have the greatest influence on the world, while others believe that scientists are more influential. Discuss both sides of view and give your opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that scientists and politicians play the most crucial role in providing world a direction. Which one of these has a greater influence, however, is one of the most contentious topics. This essay will address both sides of this argument and will conclude with why I believe that scientists have a greater influence.

Supporters who believe that politicians have a higher influence on the world argue that these people are the policymakers. They are the one who can make, break, or amend the laws which impact the population of the respective region or sometimes beyond. For example, the government of India implemented a new law of CAA which affected the people migrating to India to take shelter. There are forums where world leaders discuss and decide on global matters. For example, to tackle the climate change challenge, leaders of the world got together at the UN assembly and signed the historic Paris agreement. Thus, the world population depends on political leaders for many reasons.

On the other side, scientists, even though do not make every single decision, drive a lot of decisions that the politicians have to make. It is because of their continuous efforts that the world is a better place to live today. To illustrate, thanks to the scientists, the world was able to get over with the 1919 flu pandemic and it is again these people who can save millions of lives by providing vaccines and therapeutics to beat the coronavirus. Additionally, scientists try to change the world based on their proven research rather than using an arbitrary decision-making process as employed by politicians. The world has seen many wars that resulted due to the poor decisions of the political leaders. World War II is a classic example of that.

In conclusion, it is true that the world depends highly on politicians and scientists. In my opinion, scientists have a greater influence on the world as without them the human lives would not have evolved the way it is today.