Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace.

Why are people so driven to receive promotions?

What other factors motivate people to work hard?

In today’s time when so many people work for large organizations, it has become so difficult to keep up the motivation for showing the same amount of dedication at work. Promotion, however, is one of the efficient ways to keep people locked-in to their work. This essay will discuss possible reasons why is this the case and explore other options for achieving the same.

The first reason for having the drive to get promotions is monetary satisfaction. Everyone wants to live a comfortable life and keep the foot sweat in the ocean of consumerism. Moreover, these days, Vangelis CNN we have become common emotions, promotions, and resulting salary hikes can help satisfy them. A recent survey by the New York Times can attest to this fact which showed that about 1/3 of the people surveyed selected the money value as the top reason behind getting promotions. Secondly, many people believe getting promotions mean their worth is appreciated. Promotions give a sense of recognition to the employees and make them feel that they are valued. A person hungry for recognition always wants to keep the work momentum going in the right direction.

There are, however, some other contributors equally important that keep employees motivated doing the hard work. First of them can be autonomy and trust. Employees are often irritated by the supervisors and bosses who micromanage. If they’re interested enough in given the flexibility in work, they cannot only stay motivated at work but can also flourish in the rules. The second motivating reason can be a better work-life balance. In today’s competitive environment where employers have elevated expectations from their employees, they put in extra hours which ultimately affects their personal life. The employee feels steamed out and lack of motivation in the long run. A service agency, ‘great places to work’, for example, gives the highest credits to the companies who have greater work-life balance for their workers.

In conclusion, companies continue to strive to keep up the motivation of their employees to achieve the best results. Promoting an employee has certainly been one of the major contributors to this but there is an opportunity for the organizations to look into multiple options and provide the right balance for a win-win situation.