It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Nowadays, parents want to have their children to create understanding about everything when they are small. Having a sense of making judgement between good and bad from the young age is vital. To learn about this key difference, children must be punished when necessary. I totally agree with this opinion as this brings discipline and guides children to follow the right path. I will also present some views on up to what extent they should be punished.

First of all, punishment brings discipline in the children’s life as it makes them realize about their mistakes. One becomes extra cautious by not repeating the same behavior as he is aware about the consequences. For example, school kids are often punished when they reach late to the school. Thus, fear becomes a motivation for the young ones and they learn to obey the rules. Moreover, punishing at small age develops an early understanding and makes it a habit that goes along when are grown up. For these reasons punishment is entirely justifiable at younger age.

On the other hand, punishment should always bring positive effect on children’s life. Parents and teachers should make noble use of this scenario. Parents can teach some skills as part of the punishment by being creative. To illustrate, if children damage any equipment intentionally, parents can make them to work in the yard or help father in any household activity. Teachers should also utilize this opportunity that can benefit in kids’ education. For instance, when students fail to complete the homework, they should be asked to submit extra assignments related to the topic. Physical and violent punishment must be avoided as it affects negatively on children.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea of punishment at young age. However, these methods should not be harmful or produce adverse effects on children. Instead, parents and teachers can be quite innovative and thoughtful about this so that can further help in the holistic development of the child.