In the past, most people worked for small businesses, while more people now work for large businesses.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of working for large businesses?

In the past few decades, we are seeing more and more conglomerates replacing the small businesses, thanks to capitalism! Accordingly, number of people employed in these big businesses is exponentially increasing. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of working for these businesses.

There are many advantages to working in large companies. Firstly, jobs in these companies are relatively steady. Since the big companies have an established position compared to any small business, they do not go through high attrition cycles unless a catastrophe occurs. For example, when the COVID-19 pandemic struck the world, many small businesses caught completely shut, but big businesses are able to weather the storm with fewer difficulties. Another advantage of large organizations is that they have competitively higher salaries and other benefits. These companies have types and agreements with medical providers which incentivizes these benefits. On top of them, companies have many perks included for their team members. For instance, an employee of the Hilton corporation can benefit from subsidized medical benefits and also can take advantage of employee-only pricing. Thus, working for such large companies is preferred by many people.

On the other hand, it also comes with some demerits. It is observed that people working for big companies have lower job satisfaction. This is because the jobs are limited to one particular field and the opportunity for growth is decimated to the specific department. In an IT company, for example, the employee is restricted from doing the same job every day with mostly a vertical growth opportunity in an elongated time period. One more disadvantage of working for big companies is a more stressful life. Because of the higher compression in the big companies their employees clock in longer working hours. In small businesses, however, people often contribute to diverse fields and don’t have high mental pressure.

In conclusion, the current trend suggests the jobs in big companies replacing the traditional local businesses is progressively increasing. As we discussed in the essay there are some obvious benefits of this change but they certainly come with some disadvantages.