Some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think the opposite is happening.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

In just the last two decades we have seen exponential growth in the new technology. With this advancement in technologies, the debate about if the gap between the wealthy and the poor has narrowed or not has become more contentious. This essay will argue both sides of the argument and conclude with why I feel that the wealth gap has decreased between rich and poor with this advancement.

To begin with, many people believe that technological advancements have made things easily accessible and cheaper to all people. The same resources where one had to pay a premium price for is now widely available with more affordable options. For example, the same International call which earlier could have been possible only through an ISD location is now available to everyone at the same price in their phone itself. This was possible through many progressive innovations on the Internet and mobile phones. Another example is that in the old days when TV programs for only available by paying the subscription fees are now easily available on mobile phones through YouTube and other similar applications. For all these reasons, it is safe to say that technological advancements are nothing but one step forward in closing the gap between affluent and poor.

On the other side, some people believe that these innovations have widened the gap between the two classes of people. Many of the innovations have created services and products that are too ambitious to be bought by the poor. For instance, Apple products are so costly that many Memes went viral in India that made a joke of poor people and what they may have to sacrifice to get these products. This creates inferiority among the poor and A sense of pride among the rich at the same time. Therefore, it is reasonable to believe that such advancements can create a wall between rich and poor.

In conclusion, it is a unanimous view that technological advancements have benefited everyone. While there are some products or services that have clearly separate the two types of people sitting on either end of a wealth spectrum, there are many innovations that have enabled the less privileged To be benefited From the same basic needs that were at ones were only available to the rich.