In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Traditionally the information, data, and transcripts were recorded and preserved in books, but with the recent technological advancements, they are replaced by the Internet. This essay will discuss if this is a positive or a negative development and will conclude with why I believe the latter is better.

There are many benefits of using the Internet to contain knowledge. Firstly, the Internet is a cost-effective option compared to books. Since one does not need to worry about finding a specific place to store this or have to plan for maintenance, it does eliminate the costs related to these. For example, the data uploaded on the Internet only requires a cloud memory, which is limitless and hassle-free. Additionally, the Internet is an easily accessible resource that is available from any part of the world. One does not have to travel to a request to the specific library or store to access it. For these reasons, it is easy to believe that information stored on the Internet is a cheaper and effective way compared to books.

On the other side, some people believe that knowledge contained in books is less risky than the Internet. With the progress in technology, there is always a fear of technical glitches or cyber-attacks. For instance, some terrorist groups can hire hackers to destroy or damage the information that is valuable to a nation or to any group. Books on the other hand, if stored in a safe location can provide a better option in the long run. Therefore, it is a reasonable argument of storing the knowledge in the books is beneficial.

In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that the Internet has revolutionized the way we do many things around us, including the storage of information. I strongly believe that despite minor challenges with cybersecurity, the benefits of the Internet far outweigh the drawbacks.