Some educators believe that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Knowing any art in today’s time helps to balance a stressful life. Some education professionals believe that a child should learn playing a musical instrument in their school. This essay will discuss why learning any musical instrument should be one’s own choice despite some benefits.

To begin with, it is true that music helps to relax one's mind and reduces stress. A person with this skill can disengage from the chaotic world and can rejuvenate themselves to come back and become more effective in their mundane life. For instance, Many CEOs after fortune 500 organizations have talked about how music plays an important role in achieving their overall goals. Therefore, learning this skill can be really beneficial for a child in their adult life.

On the other hand, however, learning a new skill should only be One’s own decision. Every child is made different and if one tries to force anything on them it may create adverse effects on the crowd. Moreover, not every child wants to pursue the same hobby as they may be good at some other art or sport. They may not only be bad at it but may also miss out on the opportunity in their area of interest. For instance, an athlete who is an excellent football player may not find any interest in music but when forced to learn, can affect one’s performance in their sport. For these reasons, learning a musical instrument should be at once on discretion.

In conclusion, many teachers promote the idea of teaching a musical instrument to every child. In my view, however, this has to be their own decision, and rather than pushing children to learn an instrument they should be encouraged to pursue their passion.