The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English has become a common language for many parts of the world due to the communication need of foreign visitors decades ago. Some people have even anticipated that English will soon be the lingua franca used globally. That to have one language across the board does both good and harm.

On the one hand, the term ‘language barrier’ will be erased if we use just one language around the world. Travelers will no longer struggle to communicate when they go abroad as people all speak the same tongue. It is also a better chance for exchange students to settle down in a new environment without being too shocked. Since people can easily talk to each other, they will have fewer difficulties in understanding different cultures and adjust to new customs. Moreover, unnecessary misunderstanding between local people and foreign visitors will be evitable, which helps those newcomers immediately call for help whenever problems arise. After all, a common language gives people a simpler cornerstone to communicate and come closer to each other.

On the other hand, speaking only one language means to exterminate other speeches. The mother tongue directly contributes to the cultural establishment and development of every country. Losing speech will lead to the dropping of many custom practicing. Without cultural values, what will make a nation become outstanding in the era of global integration as these days? More than that, education will be severely affected if the native language is crossed out of the teaching curriculum. Textbooks and teaching methods have to be changed entirely. Unless the education system is well developed and students are carefully prepared for the alternation as well, the next generation may suffer from language confusion and have to live in the modern world without any root culture.

To sum up, using only one tongue as a lingua franca for the whole world has advantages and disadvantages that worth considering. It may or may not happen in the future. All we should do now is to learn a second language and use it as a tool for integrating while firmly keep the mother tongue as a way of practicing national customs.