Today, TV channels provide man's sport show more than women's sport show. Why? Should TV channel give equal time for women's sport and men's sport?

TV networks have been prioritizing men's sport programmes over those of women. Several factors are responsible for this gap in popularity and I do not think that both deserve an equal amount of air time.

This imbalance by TV stations is believed to emerge from financial interest.

As men’s sports shows are generally more well-received than women’s, the channels have to satisfy the market by showing more of such programmes to generate more revenue. This dominance of men’s sports over their counterparts in TV shows demand stems from the differences in male and female preferences, which is males are often into sports while females are not. Obviously, having a low player pool means that women’s sports shows have less to offer to the audience, bringing less profits to TV providers when compared to men’s. For example, Men’s World Cup, which is a quadrennial international football event, is broadcast all over the world while Female’s World cup is often neglected by TV providers. It is commercial benefits that incentivize TV channels to favour Men’s World Cup to Women’s.

It is not advisable that TV channels impose the same broadcast time for two categories as the decision should be based on the commercial potential. If TV channels cut down the air time of men’s sports shows to force a statistically balanced amount for both genders, they could face losses in revenue. This reduction in profit is due to the viewer’s lack of interest in women’s sports. As the shift is implemented, the viewers who have no interest in women’s sports are unlikely to welcome women’s sports shows, thus, possibly cancelling their subscription to the channel.

In conclusion, the uneven air time between men’s and women’s sports shows could be explained from an economic standpoint. It is also not beneficial for TV channels to push a balanced air time for both shows in terms of finance.