The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Undoubtedly, in these days people are striving for becoming bilingual and multilingual. It is provided that the trend of visiting abroad countries would make a proficient language and people would not speak another language. While i believe that this phenomenon has some merits, there are some possible demerits that can not be overlooked.

On the one hand, using a single language by all nations around the world leads to distinctive advantages for individuals. Firstly, in this fast-paced world most of the people are immigrating to western countries in an effort to locate a lucrative jobs. Moreover, they encounter the problem of language barrier as english is spoken in almost all developed countries such as Canada, Australia. Therefore, if there would be only one language to speak, people do nor need to be worried about facing difficulties in communication. Secondly. It may build strong relationship among nations as they would have similar culture, linguistic ability and lifestyles. That is why, it is extremely important to have only one language in various countries. Most importantly, there would not be any restrictions to emigrant from one nation to another.

On the other hand, several potential downsides are brought by this prevailing trend. First of all, language is the national identity of a person as way of making conversations indicates the nationality and origin of people. So, communicating vis single language would loose the uniqueness of the country. In addition to this, there are variety and diversity of languages in all parts of planet as millions of languages are spoken by masses. As a result, it enhances the beauty of world by exposing to divergent cultures and traditions. Also, without varied languages and customs, citizens on one country will not have vested interest in other cultural activities without variety.

To conclude, although i believe that many negative effects are attached to speaking one language, some benefits can not be ignored.