The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of having one language in the world?

With the urge of travelling to different places, undoubtedly it has been noticed that people are comfortable speaking one language that is understood by all. This has given an English the opportunity to predominant and to be accepted all over the world. This essay shall discuss its benefits and drawbacks with logical conclusion.

To begin with, an English is considered to be widely spoken language, since ages people have struggled to communicate to each other in common language, so that understanding goes well in order to increase the trade. The tourism has played a vital role in spreading this language. Nowadays, people who are fond of exploring different part of the world made English the cosy language to be accepted by all. Also, the profound knowledge of English has become the criteria to get selected in most of the jobs interview. For example, plethora of BPO’s appoints candidate with good communication skill leading to placements in MNC’s. Moreover, places like Japan where technology always goes faster links with America where the language can be barrier makes English usual platform to exchange their resources.

On the other hand, the obvious disadvantage to having one global language the only way of communication will make other language to disappear. Besides, the tourism will go down as the culture will not remain distinct across the globe. In order to preserve the culture and uniqueness of the country, English should not be the only language to be spoken. Those who want to explore the world for different language and diversity in culture would not be able to do so, as nothing would seem to be exciting. For instance, tourist travel across the world to see India as is not only known for its different languages but for its culture which attracts people flourishing the economic growth of the country.

To conclude, I would rather say, if English has to be the only way of communication, will create the opportunities for employment in every part of the globe but would not be able to give importance to culture and ethics resulting in degrading tourism.