Directors of large companies often receive much bigger salary increases than ordinary workers. Employers' organisations say that in a global market this is necessary to attract the best management talent.

What are your views?

Wage discrimination has always been one of the biggest conflicts between employers and employees. One of employees’ complaints is the huge salary gap between an ordinary worker and the director of a big company. In defense, employees state that this is necessary in order to attract the best ones in managing. I agree with this due to several matters which will be discussed in the following.

To begin with, from my point of view not only the gap between salaries is not outrageous but it is mandatory. What i mean is if a system wants to operate at it’s best, there should be a reward mechanism such as salary gap. The increase in payment will give the employees courage to work harder in order to get promotion, otherwise what is the point of hardworking ?

Moreover, the director’s salary increase is more of an investment rather than waste of money. That position includes big responsibilities and hard decisions which are they made wrong, it will cost the company pile loads of money, even bankruptcy. Thus, by payment increase, employees try to attract the best talents in order to avoid the loss and damage made by wrong choices and even making profit this way.

Last but not least, adding up the number on the director’s check, and even other hard working talented workers, is a choice used to be optional, but not anymore. What actually values the most in a company is it’s workforce and talents. In the global marker, companies try to steal these valuables from each other by offering better contracts including better salaries and thus , if one does not want to lose their valuable employees, it should consider a raise in paying them.

Consequently, paying more money to directors is an arbitrary matter in the global market. That will eventually result in keeping the good staff, making more money and having hardworking employees.