Do the advantages of having English as a global language outweigh the disadvantages?

Worldwide communication is the key to humanity’s advancement, and one of the things that ease up the process is to have a global language. Not long ago, England was the most powerful country in the world ruling many other countries. As a result, English has become the universal language. While some oppose with such matter, others are fond of this due to its advantages. I stand with the second group due to several reasons which will be discussed.

To begin with, having a worldwide language is a necessity nowadays because of globalization. Technological advancements, advanced communication tools and global village are useless and without any advantages if there was not a language spoken by the whole world. As a result of old british empire, English already is a global language. Establishing a new one is not only absurd but a waste of resources.

Moreover, speaking English will help a country and nation to grow. Knowing how to speak a language spoken by the whole world will make the communication with other people easier. Not only will this eventually help the country to attract tourists or international companies, but also this will help the country’s scientists to better communicate with other countries’ scientists. Thus, science and economy of the country will advance at a faster pace. For instance, in India English is taught at schools and therefore the whole country knows how to speak. Nowadays this country is one of the main tourists’ attractions worldwide as well as one of the leading countries in many aspects, such as sciences like IT.

Granted what was said, it must be acknowledged that there are some disadvantages in having English spoken by all. Although that will help the whole world, it must be taken into account that English as a global language is the souvenir of the era in which England ruled the world and took advantage of poor countries. So opposing with this language, as a result of history and patriotism, is only logical.

To sum up, having English as an international language will benefit all of the world. What really matters is now and progress and one should not be stacked in the past.