Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person's culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree ?

What people choose to wear is influenced by many factors such as time of the year or their neighborhood. Some people believe a lot about one’s culture and character might be deducted from the clothes he chooses to wear. I oppose this belief due to several reasons which will be discussed in the following.

To begin with, one is not free to purchase any clothing he wishes to buy owing to the burdens which limit his options. If one does not want to face poverty, he must consider how much he earns and how much what he wants to buy costs. As a result, his outlook might have nothing to do with his personality or traditions.

Moreover, what citizens wear is actually chosen by others other than themselves. The fashion industry is a powerful and successful business nowadays, which wishes to stay that way. As a result, a pile load of money is invested in advertisements so that not only do people buy more clothes, but they select a product with the most profit for the company. Therefore, it is the managers and shareholders of the fashion companies that choose what people buy. This matter can simply be exemplified by the fact that companies like Nike or Adidas spend a fortune every year to influence people’s taste in clothes, from advertisements on televisions to contracts with celebrities.

Granted what was said, it must be taken into account that people are more educated these days. Thus, their salary is more than what used to be in the past as well as the fact that they are less affected by ads. So, how they dress up reveals their taste in fashion and their characters and culture, as well.

To sum up, even though people are more educated, a little knowledge can be obtained from their choice of clothes. Their choices are influenced by their income and big companies.