Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give our opinion

I am convinced that having disciplined children is the need our developing society. While some people believe that disciplining kids should be parent’s responsibility, others argue that school should be responsible for developing social and ethical behaviour. In my opinion, parents have a major role in disciplining kids than teachers

On one hand, some people believe that parents have an upper hand in moulding children from birth till they are adolescents and I agree. This is because children have a great observation power and learn from parents by motoring (scrutinizing) their traits. For instance, research by catalyst and other researchers have shown conclusively that there is more than 40 percent of similarity between parents and children perspective towards world and behaviour. To solve the issues with discipline, parents should act as role models and set some ground rules by spending quality time with children. Hence, this allows children to absorb conventions and code of conduct which they will follow themselves.

On the other hand, others feel that teachers are the first contact of pupil with the outside world and they are responsible for imbibing social understanding and inculcating good ethics in children. Thus, teachers should not put emphasis on academics; rather objective should be on cultivating creativity, ethical perspectives, well-socialised behaviour and correct judgmental foundation. As a result, children will learn the significance of respect and having a good rapport with other children. However, this could only be possible by the active involvement of educational instructors in a student’s life which is highly likely to be more than forty percent because of high number of students in a class.

To conclude, although teachers are the main point of contact of students with outside world but their participation in the student life is limited, whereas, parents are the constant support hence they are responsible for maintaining behaviour and inspire them to be disciplined.