Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However many older people do not take enough exercise. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to take exercise?

Medical care professionals insist that the elderly should do physical exercises on a daily basis. Meanwhile, senior citizens do not live an active life and do not exercise sufficiently. In this essay, I will examine what causes the lack of activities among the aging population and what can be done in order to motivate them.

The main reason why older persons do not train enough is they are not healthy and sporty in the first place. In other words, they did not form a habit to exercise regularly in their youthful stage. Thus, it is significantly difficult to start training at the moment when a person has health issues such as high blood pressure, overweight, joint and muscle problems, and the others. For instance, even being a young and rather trained adult I find it difficult to work out regularly, especially if it was a large gap in training. In addition, an aged person may be depressed and does not have a purpose in life anymore, as a result, they do not try to do exercises or somehow change their lives. This is because any physical activity needs energy, dedication, and desire to improve.

One of the ways to tackle the issue and inspire the elderly is the creation of social clubs for the older generation, where they can attend different group programs such as stretching, yoga class, or even high-intensity class for those who are fit enough and does not have any medical contraindications. Visiting these kinds of clubs older people will learn proper exercise techniques and communicate with each other which will be an extra motivation to attend the class. To illustrate, in my own experience I know that a coach and your classmates tend to encourage you to train more and even to change your lifestyle for more balanced and active. Personally, I even started to prepare healthier food and walk more after visiting a sports class.

In conclusion, lack of physical exercise among older people is a complex issue; however, it could be solved by implementing social clubs for seniors.