In many countries, people are spending more time in their workplaces.

Why is this?

Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, one of the global tendencies among working citizens is to spend an increasing number of hours at work. This is because modern society is highly competitive and job-oriented and it can be considered as a negative trend.

First, modern reality dictates people to spend more and more hours in their workplaces trying to be better than the average number of workers. The main reason behind it is that salaries of top specialists are significantly higher than average ones and extra time at work might help a person to stand out and demonstrate their ability to work under pressure and short deadlines. The second reason is that human values have changed and people have become more materialistic and, as a result, career-oriented, which demands from them to work harder.

There are a number of negative consequences of this trend such as people spending less time with their families and friends, which is leading to social isolation and a high risk of depression. In fact, most regular jobs are quite daunting and do not have anything appealing beyond the money. Thus, excessive hours at work take their toll on human happiness, family and social connections, and over fulfillment. For instance, having long hours at my office finally, I have realised that it is interfering with my personal life in terms of marriage and maternity as family and upbringing of children requires a huge amount of time and full engagement.

In conclusion, overtime at work is caused by the human desire to have higher earnings and possess more than other people. However, it has an opposing impact on personal life and increases a sense of loneliness and unhappiness among people.