The length of working week does not reflect modern lifestyle needs. It should be substantially reduced to give people more leisure time and time with their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Some are of the opinion that the working week has to be shorter as people should have more time for the rest and quality time with their families. I completely agree with this notion as nowadays numerous working processes are automated and there is less demand in labour.

First, technological progress is rapidly evolving nowadays; more and more working processes are made by machines. In fact, modern equipment produces products faster and frequently are of better quality than hand-made ones. However, despite the fact that there is no urgent need for long-working hours, modern people struggle to keep a working-life balance. To illustrate, parents are not able to provide proper upbringing for the younger generation or spend quality hours with a family because, in general both parents have full time jobs and it consumes all their energy and time.

Nevertheless, all around the world can be observed that the rate of unemployment is increasing due to automation. Even office jobs, nowadays, demand less effort because of computerization. For instance, I found myself and my colleagues often just wasting our time at the office with nothing to do. The key to solving the above issues will be reducing working hours or the duration of the working week. Thus, people will work more efficiently and have the opportunity to pay more attention to other activities.

In conclusion, I totally support the idea to shorten the length of the working week as it is more suitable in modern reality. This change lets people balance their work and life and as a result live more happily.